NSW floods: CCS period of emergency declared

We’ve declared a Child Care Subsidy (CCS) period of emergency in parts of NSW due to the impact of flooding.

The CCS period of emergency applies from 5 April to 16 April 2024 in the following local government areas:

  • Blue Mountains City Council
  • Camden Council
  • Hawkesbury City Council
  • The Council of the Municipality of Kiama
  • Liverpool City Council
  • Penrith City Council
  • Shellharbour City Council
  • Shoalhaven City Council
  • Sutherland Shire Council
  • Upper Lachlan Shire Council
  • Wingecarribee Shire Council
  • Wollondilly Shire Council
  • Wollongong City Council

We continue to monitor the situation and will provide updates as required.

Support during the emergency

The following support is available in affected regions during the CCS period of emergency:

  • you can continue to get CCS if your service closes as a direct result of the emergency
  • you can waive the gap fee if a child doesn’t attend, or your service is closed, during the CCS period of emergency
  • families will get unlimited allowable absences for the duration of the CCS period of emergency.

Read more about support during a CCS period of emergency.

Support after the emergency

The following support may help you recover after an emergency:

Read more about support after an emergency.

Other disaster support

You may be eligible for other government disaster support:

  • The Australian Government provides help for people affected by natural disasters. Find out whether you're eligible for natural disaster support on the Services Australia website.
  • Your state or territory government may provide additional support in the event of a natural disaster. Find out more at Emergencies in NSW on the NSW Government web site.