NSW floods update: period of emergency extended, new LGAs added

We’ve extended the period of emergency in place for parts of New South Wales, and Jervis Bay, impacted by flooding and severe weather.

The period of emergency now applies until 13 July 2022 and includes the following six additional Local Government Areas (LGAs), where the period of emergency is effective 4 July:

  • Bayside, Dungog, Lake Macquarie, Maitland, Singleton and Upper Lachlan.

See the full list of affected regions and dates on our website.

Sector-specific support

When we declare a period of emergency:

  • services can get Child Care Subsidy if they close as a direct result of the emergency during the period of emergency
  • services can waive gap fees if a child doesn’t attend or their service is closed during the period of emergency
  • children will get extra absences for the duration of the period of emergency.

Full details of this support are available on our help in an emergency page

Other government support

Services in affected areas may also be eligible for other government support:

We continue to monitor the situation and will provide updates as required.

Please watch our emergency support by region page for updates.