NSW floods update: period of emergency extended for 9 LGAs

This content was published on Tuesday 12 July 2022. There may be more recent updates available.

We’ve extended the period of emergency for parts of New South Wales that continue to be impacted by flooding.

The period of emergency now applies until 20 July 2022 for the following Local Government Areas (LGAs):

  • Central Coast, Cessnock, Hawkesbury, The Hills Shire, Hornsby, Lake Macquarie, Maitland, Port Stephens, Singleton.

See the full list of affected regions and dates.

Sector-specific support

When we declare a period of emergency:

  • services can get Child Care Subsidy if they close as a direct result of the emergency during the period of emergency
  • services can waive gap fees if a child doesn’t attend or their service is closed during the period of emergency
  • children will get extra absences for the duration of the period of emergency.

Full details of this support are available on our help in an emergency page.

Other government support

Services in affected areas may also be eligible for other government support:

We continue to monitor the situation and will provide updates as required.

Please watch our emergency support by region page for updates.