NSW floods update: period of emergency extended to 8 more LGAs

We’ve extended the period of emergency in place for parts of New South Wales impacted by flooding and severe weather to 8 more Local Government Areas (LGAs).

These LGAs are:

  • Cumberland, Mid-Coast, Muswellbrook, Nambucca Valley, Newcastle, Port Stephens, Randwick and Warren.

The period of emergency for these LGAs is from 4 to 13 July.

See the full list of affected regions and dates on our website.

Sector-specific support

When we declare a period of emergency:

  • services can get Child Care Subsidy if they close as a direct result of the emergency during the period of emergency
  • services can waive gap fees if a child doesn’t attend or their service is closed during the period of emergency
  • children will get extra absences for the duration of the period of emergency.

Full details of this support are available on our help in an emergency page.

Other government support

Services in affected areas may also be eligible for other government support:

We continue to monitor the situation and will provide updates as required.

Please watch our emergency support by region page for updates.