National School Resourcing Board


The Australian Government has established a National School Resourcing Board (the Board) to provide greater independent oversight over Commonwealth school funding.

The Board is responsible for undertaking reviews of different parts of the funding model under the Australian Education Act 2013 (the Act). These reviews help ensure public confidence in the funding model and ensure states, territories and other approved authorities comply with their obligations under the Act.

Over time, the reviews undertaken by the Board will help to ensure the funding model is using the best available data and methodologies, as well as making sure funding is used in line with the Act.

Membership of the Board was announced on 1 November 2017.

The Board members are:

  • Mr Michael Chaney AO (Chair)
  • (Deputy Chair vacant)
  • Professor Natalie Brown
  • Professor Greg Craven AO
  • Professor Stephen Lamb
  • Professor Ken Smith
  • Dr Alison Taylor
  • Ms Audrey Jackson AM

The Board's first priority was to review the funding arrangements for determining the capacity of non-government school communities to contribute to the operational costs of their school.

Current reviews

A review of regional Schooling Resource Standards Loadings

Completed reviews

A review of the socio-economic status score methodology.

A review of the loading for students with disability

A review of needs-based funding requirements

A review of state and territory compliance with section 22A (State-Territory contributions)

For more information