Tuition Protection Service Advisory Board

The Tuition Protection Service (TPS) Advisory Board provides advice and makes recommendations to the TPS Director on the settings of the TPS levies. The non-government members of the TPS Advisory Board are appointed by the Minister for Education under the Education Services for Overseas Students Act 2000. The government members of the Board are legislated representatives of the departments relevant to TPS operations.

The members of the TPS Advisory Board are also the members of the VET Student Loans (VSL) Tuition Protection Fund Advisory Board under the VET Student Loans Act 2016 and the members of the Higher Education Tuition Protection Fund Advisory Board under the Higher Education Support Act 2003.

On this page:

The Board is required, by legislation, to consist of:

  1. a representative from each of the following agencies:

    1. the Department [Education];
    2. the Department administered by the Minister administering the VET Student Loans Act 2016 [Employment and Workplace Relations];
    3. the Department whose Minister administers the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013 [Finance];
    4. the Department administered by the Immigration Minister [Home Affairs];
    5. the Australian Government Actuary;
    6. the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority;
  2. up to seven other members.

The Board is guided by the TPS Advisory Board Charter.

Appointed members

Ms Sharon Robertson (Chair)

Sharon is Chief Executive Officer of the Manufacturing Industry Skills Alliance (formerly IBSA Group), which is the Jobs and Skills Council (JSC) for the manufacturing industry. The Manufacturing Alliance is an industry-owned and industry-led organisation, working with stakeholders across Australia to support the development of skilled workforces.

Sharon previously served as Head of the National Advisory for Tertiary Education, Skills and Employment (NATESE), Executive Director of VETASSESS, and Deputy CEO of TVET Australia. Prior to that, she worked in KPMG’s government advisory services, and has also worked in government.

The Hon. Phil Honeywood (Deputy Chair)

Phil has been Chief Executive Officer of the International Education Association of Australia since 2011. He also sits on the Education Visa Consultative Committee and is Convenor of the Council for International Education. Prior to his work in the education sector, Phil was a member of the Victorian State Parliament for almost two decades, serving as the Minister for Tertiary Education and Training and Minister for Multicultural Affairs. He was the Deputy Leader of the Victorian State Opposition from 2002 to 2006.

Ms Yeganeh Soltanpour

Yeganeh is the current National President at the Council of International Students Australia, which is the highest government body looking after the wellbeing and welfare of international students that study in Australia, at every level. She is an advocate for international students, and her passion for students has extended upon a multitude of her roles in the past, such as volunteering as an International Peer Mentor from 2018 to 2020 and being selected as one of the StudyAdelaide 2021 Student Ambassadors, representing Adelaide as a study destination.

Ex-officio members

Australian Government Actuary

Mr Guy Thorburn

Department of Education

Ms Karen Sandercock

Department of Employment and Workplace Relations

Mr Matthew Hardy

Australian Prudential Regulation Authority

Ms Gloria Yu

Department of Finance

Ms Rebecca Mok

Department of Home Affairs

Ms Victoria Miller