20,000 additional Commonwealth supported places

The additional places will address skill shortages and give more students from under represented backgrounds the opportunity to go to university.

On this page:

About the measure

The Australian Government is investing up to $485.5 million over the forward estimates to support a one-off boost of 20,000 commencing Commonwealth supported places (CSPs) in 2023 and 2024.

The additional places will provide more opportunities for Australians to enrol to study in areas of national priority. Higher education providers have been allocated places in the following areas:

  • 4,036 places in education
  • 2,600 places in nursing
  • 2,275 in IT
  • 2,740 in health professions
  • 1,738 in engineering

The remaining courses will be offered in other areas of skills shortage.

These places will focus on increasing participation for regional and remote students, those from low socio-economic backgrounds, students with a disability, First Nations students, and those who are first in family to study at university.


Applications opened on 16 August 2022 and closed on 19 September 2022. Allocation of places to eligible providers were determined based on the outcomes of a competitive selection process. Information on the selection criteria can be found at the program guidelines.

The 42 successful providers are:

  • The Australian National University
  • University of Canberra
  • Torrens University
  • Australian Catholic University
  • Charles Sturt University
  • Southern Cross University
  • The University of Newcastle
  • University of Wollongong
  • University of New South Wales
  • Western Sydney University
  • Macquarie University
  • University of Technology Sydney
  • The University of Sydney
  • Alphacrucis College
  • The University of New England
  • Charles Darwin University
  • Queensland University of Technology
  • The University of Queensland
  • CQUniversity
  • James Cook University
  • University of the Sunshine Coast
  • Avondale University
  • University of South Australia
  • Flinders University
  • University of Tasmania
  • Monash University
  • Victoria University
  • RMIT University
  • Deakin University
  • Swinburne University of Technology
  • The University of Melbourne
  • University of Divinity
  • Eastern College Australia
  • Holmesglen Institute of TAFE
  • Melbourne Polytechnic
  • Curtin University
  • Edith Cowan University
  • University of Notre Dame Australia
  • The University of Western Australia
  • Murdoch University
  • University of Southern Queensland
  • The University of Adelaide