Pilbara Kimberley Universities Centre Broome officially opens

RUC opening Broome - Newsroom Tile

This story was first published on Wednesday 20 September 2023. If you wish to use this content, please contact media@education.gov.au to confirm that the information is still current.

On 19 September 2023, Senator the Hon Anthony Chisholm, Assistant Minister for Education, opened the Pilbara Kimberley Universities Centre in Broome, Western Australia.

The Centre is funded through the Australian Government’s Regional University Study Hubs (formerly Regional University Centres) program.

The Regional University Study Hub currently supports 35 students, seven of which identify as Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander, to undertake tertiary study while remaining in their community.

This region of Western Australia is particularly remote and has more than 100 Aboriginal communities, as well as a relatively young population.

Students from Broome, Kununurra, Halls Creek, and Fitzroy Crossing are benefitting from the Pilbara Kimberley Universities Centre in Broome as it provides educational pathways for undergraduate and postgraduate study, and professional development opportunities.

Students are undertaking a range of tertiary courses including nursing, social work, education, veterinary science, and medicine.

In 2023, the Regional University Study Hubs program is supporting more than 3,400 students, who are studying more than 1,000 courses through over 200 tertiary education providers around Australia.

On 18 July 2023, the Hon Jason Clare MP, Minister for Education announced $66.9 million to establish up to 20 additional Regional University Study Hubs and up to 14 new Suburban University Study Hubs. This is part of the Government’s response to the priority actions listed in the Australian Universities Accord Panel’s Interim Report.

Watch our student testimonial videos to find out about the benefits of studying at a Regional Hub.

For more information and to find out if there is a Regional Hub in your area, visit the Regional University Study Hubs page.

Correct at time of publication.