The Higher Education Standards Panel (HESP)

The Higher Education Standards Panel (HESP) is an expert statutory advisory body, established under the Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency Act 2011 (TEQSA Act), with responsibility related to the standards for delivery of higher education in Australia.

Role and responsibilities

The Higher Education Standards Panel (HESP) provides independent advice to the Minister(s) responsible for tertiary education and research.


  • Making or varying the Higher Education Standards Framework (Threshold Standards)
  • Is independent of the quality assurance agency, the Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA)
  • Is responsible for advice on how to maintain the quality and standards of Australia’s higher education system
  • Advises and makes recommendations to TEQSA on matters relating to the Threshold Standards – either at their request or the Panel's own initiative
  • Consults with interested parties in carrying out its work
  • Establishes advisory committees to assist in performing its functions

Panel membership

HESP Member Role
Professor Steve Chapman Chair
Professor Kerri-Lee Krause Deputy Chair
Professor Helen Bartlett Member
Professor Joe Chicharo  Member
Professor Doug Hilton Member
Dr David Perry Member
Ms Kadi Taylor Member

Go HESP Member profiles to find out more about individual panel members.

Current HESP projects

Further work on admissions transparency

The Panel has established an advisory committee on admissions transparency to help it take forward a new request from the former Minister for Education and Youth, the Hon Alan Tudge MP.

The Minister has asked the Panel to:

  1. extend the sector-agreed 2017 admissions transparency common terminology definitions and information set specifications to include information on admission requirements for postgraduate courses and information targeted to international students interested in seeking admission to Australian courses;
  2. ensure the inclusion within student ATAR data profiles of all recent higher education students, regardless of whether ATAR was a factor in the student's admission
  3. review the common terminology definitions and information set specifications agreed in 2017 to assess whether other aspects of these should be refined or otherwise amended; and
  4. work with relevant stakeholders to ensure sector ownership of and buy-in to any proposed updates to terminology and data specifications

The Panel will also analyse changes in the landscape of admissions processes that have arisen since the Panel’s 2016 report Improving the Transparency of Higher Education Admissions, particularly in light of the sector’s response to the Covid-19 pandemic, and assess the impact of these changes.

The members of the advisory committee on admissions transparency, which will operate throughout 2022, are:

  • Professor Kerri-Lee Krause, Deputy Chair, Higher Education Standards Panel and Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor Avondale University (Chair)
  • Professor Arshad Omari, Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor Edith Cowan University (responsibility for student experience, academic and university governance)
  • Ms Connie Merlino, Academic Registrar RMIT University
  • Ms Catriona Jackson, Chief Executive Officer Universities Australia
  • Professor Kathryn von Treuer, Chief Executive Officer Cairnmillar Institute
  • Ms Natalie Simmons, Chief Executive Officer ICHM
  • Professor Martin Westwell, Chief Executive South Australian Certificate of Education Board
  • Mr Stuart Mossman, Chair Australasian Conference of Tertiary Admission Centres (ACTAC), Chief Executive Officer SATAC 
  • Ms Sarah Bux, Student at La Trobe University
  • Mr Alistair Maclean, Chief Executive Officer Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency

The Panel agreed to Terms of Reference for the advisory committee at its 16 November 2021 meeting.

Academic Credit Recognition

In 2018, the former Minister for Education and Training, Senator the Hon Simon Birmingham, requested the Panel’s advice on whether credit transfer policies and the standards in higher education are adequately meeting the needs of students and institutions, noting the 2019 Review of the Australian Qualifications Framework.

On 30 March 2020, the HESP provided its advice and proposed amendments to the Threshold Standards to the Minister for Education, the Hon Dan Tehan.

To support the Panel’s consideration, PhillipsKPA consultants were commissioned to undertake background research and provided an Academic Credit Recognition report.

Amending the Higher Education Standards Framework - Provider Category Standards

In October 2018 the Minister Tehan asked Emeritus Professor Peter Coaldrake AO to review the Higher Education Provider Category Standards (PCS), which form Part B of the the Higher Education Standards Framework (Threshold Standards) 2015. The HESP was asked to be the steering committee for the review.

The Minister asked the HESP to provide advice on amendments required to the Threshold Standards to implement the Review recommendations. The Panel undertook a consultation process that closed on 14 April 2020 supported by a discussion paper and provided its advice to the Minister on this matter.

Recent projects