Back to school dates 2020

School term dates have been compiled from information obtained from state and territory government departments and are subject to change without notice.

Independent and Catholic schools base their holidays on the state school dates but these can vary from school to school. Check with your school for details.

Australian Capital Territory

Term 1: Monday 3 February 2020 – Thursday 9 April 2020 (Students commence Tuesday 4 February 2020)

Term 2: Monday 27 April 2020 – Friday 3 July 2020

Term 3: Monday 20 July 2020 – Friday 25 September 2020

Term 4: Monday 12 October 2020 – Friday 18 December 2020

For further information, please visit the ACT Government Education Directorate website.


New South Wales

Term 1: (Eastern division): Tuesday 28 January — Thursday 9 April

Term 1: (Western division): Tuesday 4 February — Thursday 9 April

Term 2: Monday 27 April 2020 – Friday 3 July 2020

Term 3: Monday 20 July 2020 – Friday 25 September 2020

Term 4: Monday 12 October 2020 – Friday 18 December 2020

For further information, please visit NSW Department of Education website.


South Australia

Term 1: Tue 28 Jan 2020 – Thu 9 Apr 2020

Term 2: Mon 27 Apr 2020 – Fri 3 Jul 2020

Term 3: Mon 20 Jul 2020 – Fri 25 Sep 2020

Term 4: Mon 12 Oct 2020 – Fri 11 Dec 2020

For further information, please visit the SA Government Department for Education website.


Queensland

Term 1: Tuesday 28 January 2020 – Friday 3 April 2020

Term 2: Monday 20 April 2020 – Friday 26 June 2020

Term 3: Monday 13 July 2020 – Friday 18 September 2020

Term 4: Tuesday 6 October 2020 – Friday 11 December 2020 (Year 12 - 20 November 2020; Year 10 and 11 - 27 November 2020)

For further information, please visit the QLD Government Department of Education website.


Northern Territory

Term 1: Tuesday 28 January 2020 – Thursday 9 April 2020 (urban schools), Wednesday 29 January 2020 – Thursday 9 April 2020 (remote schools - excluding Gunbalanya School) 

Term 2: Monday 20 April 2020 – Friday 26 June 2020

Term 3: Tuesday 21 July 2020 – Friday 25 September 2020

Term 4: Monday 12 October 2020 – Thursday 17 December 2020 (urban schools), Monday 12 October 2020 – Friday 18 December 2020 (remote schools)

For further information, please visit the NT Government Department of Education website.


Western Australia

Term 1: Monday 3 February 2020 – Thursday 9 April 2020

Term 2: Tuesday 28 April 2020 – Friday 3 July 2020

Term 3: Monday 20 Jul 2020 – Friday 25 September 2020

Term 4: Monday 12 October 2020 – Thursday 17 December 2020

For further information, please visit the WA Government Department of Education website.


Victoria

Term 1: Tuesday 28 January 2020 – Friday 27 March 2020 (first day of Term 1 is a student-free day)

Term 2: Tuesday 14 April 2020 – Friday 26 June 2020

Term 3: Monday 13 July 2020 – Friday 18 September 2020

Term 4: Monday 5 October 2020 – Friday 18 December 2020

For further information, please visit the VIC Government Department of Education and Training website.


Tasmania

Term 1: Wednesday 5 February 2020 – Thursday 9 April 2020 (teachers commence Monday 3 February 2020)

Term 2: Monday 27 April 2020 – Friday 3 July 2020

Term 3: Monday 20 July 2020 – Friday 25 September 2020

Term 4: Monday 12 October 2020 – Thursday 17 December 2020 (Teachers finish Friday 18 December, College teachers finish Friday 11 Dec 2020)

For further information, please visit the TAS Government Department of Education website.