School term dates 2017

School term dates have been compiled from information obtained from state and territory government departments and are subject to change without notice. Independent and Catholic schools base their holidays on the state school dates but these can vary from school to school - check with your independent or Catholic school for details.

On this page

Australian Capital Territory

  • Term 1: Friday 27 January – Friday 7 April (New students commence Monday 30 January)
  • Term 2: Wednesday 26 April – Friday 30 June
  • Term 3: Monday 17 July – Friday 22 September
  • Term 4: Monday 9 October – Friday 15 December

For further information, please visit the ACT Government Education and Training Directorate website.

New South Wales Students

  • Term 1: Monday 30 January – Friday 7 April (Eastern division for students)
    Monday 6 February – Friday 7 April (Western division for students)
  • Term 2: Wednesday 26 April – Friday 30 June (Eastern and Western division for students)
  • Term 3: Tuesday 18 July – Friday 22 September (Eastern and Western division for students)
  • Term 4: Monday 9 October – Friday 15 December (Eastern and Western division for students)*

Note: * Year 12 students have a different finishing date in term 4. Year 12 only goes for 3 terms, ending late September/early October. There is then a short break before returning for final exams (Higher School Certificate) which commence mid-October and end mid-November. For further information, please visit NSW Government Public Schools website.

South Australia

  • Term 1: Monday 30 January – Thursday 13 April
  • Term 2: Monday 1 May – Friday 7 July
  • Term 3: Monday 24 July – Friday 29 September
  • Term 4: Monday 16 October – Friday 15 December

For further information, please visit the SA Government Department for Education and Child Development website.

Queensland

  • Term 1: Monday 23 January – Friday 31 March
  • Term 2: Tuesday 18 April – Friday 23 June
  • Term 3: Monday 10 July – Friday 15 September
  • Term 4: Tuesday 3 October – Friday 8 December

Year 10 and 12 finishing dates for 2017
Year 12 – Friday 17 November
Year 10 and 11 – Friday 24 November

For further information, please visit the QLD Department of Education and Training website.

Northern Territory

  • Term 1: Monday 30 January – Friday 7 April (urban schools only)
                  Tuesday 31 January – Friday 7 April (remote schools only)
  • Term 2: Tuesday 18 April – Friday 23 June (all schools)
  • Term 3: Tuesday 25 July – Friday 29 September (all schools)
  • Term 4: Monday 9 October – 14 December (urban schools only)
               ​​   Monday 9 October – 15 December (remote schools only)

For further information, please visit the NT Government Department of Education website.

Western Australia

  • Term 1: Wednesday 1 February – Friday 7 April
  • Term 2: Monday 24 April – Friday 30 June
  • Term 3: Monday 17 July – Friday 22 September
  • Term 4: Monday 9 October – Thursday 14 December

In Western Australia, end of year dates for Year 12 students is a school-based decision. For many students, their last day of school is the day of their last exam.

For further information, please visit the WA Government Department of Education website.

Victoria

  • Term 1: Monday 30 January – Friday 31 March
  • Term 2: Tuesday 18 April – Friday 30 June
  • Term 3: Monday 17 July – Friday 22 September
  • Term 4: Monday 9 October – Friday 22 December

For further information, please visit the VIC Department of Education and Early Childhood Development website

Tasmania

  • Term 1: Wednesday 8 February – Thursday 13 April
  • Term 2: Monday 1 May – Friday 7 July
  • Term 3: Monday 24 July – Friday 29 September
  • Term 4: Monday 16 October – Friday 15 December

For further information, please visit the TAS Government Department of Education Tasmania website.