NWDF related Acts - Discrimination, Privacy and Freedom of Information


Discrimination Legislation

Commonwealth agencies, including the Department of Industry, Innovation, Climate Change, Science, Research and Tertiary Education, are subject to Acts which prohibit discriminatory practices:

  • Racial Discrimination Act 1975
  • Sex Discrimination Act 1984
  • Disability Discrimination Act 1992 and
  • Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission Act 1986.

The department has a legal responsibility to ensure its participants receive assistance in an environment free from discrimination and must ensure that approved organisations are aware of, and comply with, anti-discrimination legislation. Organisations should familiarise themselves with these Acts and seek their own legal advice to ensure compliance.

Commonwealth agencies, including the department, are also subject to the following Acts:

  • Freedom of Information Act 1982
  • Privacy Act 1988 and
  • Ombudsman Act 1976.