Top University Teachers recognised

Friday 2 December 2016


Flinders University lecturer Associate Professor Karen Burke da Silva took top honours at the Australian Awards for University Teaching last night in Canberra. In front of an audience of over 150 guests from across the higher education sector, Associate Professor Burke da Silva received the coveted Award for Australian University Teacher of the Year, recognising her standing as one of Australia’s finest science educators.

Presented by the Minister for Education and Training Simon Birmingham, the awards celebrate those individuals and groups who have made outstanding contributions to enhancing student learning outcomes and equipping students to be agile and creative citizens of our nation.

The teaching excellence awards were presented to 18 individuals across many disciplines including, science, the arts, Indigenous studies, psychology, business, health and journalism.

Twelve programs were also recognised for their contribution to enhancing learning through such initiatives as widening participation in tertiary studies, supporting the professional development of sessional teachers, and creating innovative educational partnerships.

The Australian Awards for University Teaching showcase the excellence of our higher education teachers and confirms the sector’s global leader status.

Minister for Education and Training Simon Birmingham speaking at the AAUT National Ceremony at Old Parliament House in Canberra

The full list of award winners