Minister for Education announces 16 Regional Study Hubs

Friday 9 November 2018


The Australian Government provided an initial investment of $24.2 million over four years from 2018–19 to assist in the establishment and operation of 16 community-owned, Regional University Centres across regional Australia. Regional University Centres provide infrastructure such as study spaces, video conferencing, computing facilities and internet access, as well as academic support for students studying via distance at partner universities.

On 12 November 2018, the Minister for Education announced the following Regional University Centres, which are now in operation:

Recipient State Location
Geraldton Universities Centre WA Geraldton
Gippsland East Local Learning and Employment Network VIC Bairnsdale
Country Universities Centre Snowy Monaro NSW Cooma
Country Universities Centre Far West NSW Broken Hill
Country Universities Centre Goulburn NSW Goulburn
Country Universities Centre Clarence Valley NSW Clarence Valley
Country Universities Centre North West NSW Narrabri and Moree
Country Universities Centre Western Riverina NSW Griffith and Leeton
West Coast Heritage TAS West Coast
Arnhem Land Progress Aboriginal Corporation NT Nhulunbuy, Ramingining*, Milingimbi* and Galiwin'ku
Rural City of Murray Bridge SA Murray Bridge City
Goondiwindi SILO QLD Goondiwindi
Pilbara Tertiary Education Centre WA Pilbara (Karratha and Port Hedland)
Wuyagiba Study Hub Aboriginal Corporation NT Wuyagiba, South East Arnhem Land
RDA Barossa Gawler Light Adelaide Plains SA Nuriootpa (Barossa Valley)
Upper Spencer Gulf SA Port Augusta and Port Pirie

* proposed satellite hubs, not yet operational