Expert Teams for the 2016 National Research Infrastructure Roadmap

Friday 20 May 2016


Six teams of respected and eminent researchers have been announced that will assist in identifying Australian research infrastructure capability by assessing what we have and what the nation might need in the future.

The teams of experts will examine the areas of: health, physics, environment, culture, national security and underpinning research.

This process is integral to the development of a discussion paper for the 2016 National Research Infrastructure Roadmap, which will be released later in the year.

The list of the areas and respective capability experts is below. Their current position and employer have been included to show the range of expertise.

National Research Infrastructure Roadmap Capability Experts

Capability Area Expert  
Health and Medical Science A/Prof Peter Gibbs Laboratory Head, Systems Biology and Personalised Medicine Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research Vic
Prof Peter Gray Research Leader, Mammalian Cell Lines and Stem Cell Bioprocesses University of Queensland Qld
Prof Sunil Lakhani Head, Academic Discipline of Molecular and Cellular Pathology University of Queensland Qld
Prof Sally Redman AO Chief Executive Officer Sax Institute NSW
Advanced Physics, Mathematics and Materials Dr Cathy Foley Chief, Division of Materials Science and Engineering CSIRO NSW
Prof Mark Hutchinson Director, Centre for Nanoscale Biophotonics University of Adelaide SA
Prof Timothy Senden School Director, Research School of Physics and Engineering Australian National University ACT
Environment and Natural Resource Management Prof Bob Pressey Chief Investigator, ARC Centre for Excellence for Coral Reef Studies James Cook University Qld
Dr Helen Cleugh Science Director, Oceans and Atmosphere Flagship CSIRO ACT
Dr Joanne Daly Fellow, National Research Collections and Informatics CSIRO ACT
Understanding Cultures and Communities Mr Alec Coles OBE CEO Western Australian Museum WA
Prof Lynette Russell Director, Monash Indigenous Centre Monash University Vic
Prof Matthew Sanders Director, Parenting and Family Support Centre University of Queensland Qld
National Interest and National Security Em Prof Mary Barton Emeritus Professor of School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences  University of South Australia SA
Dr Jackie Craig Chief, Cyber and Electronic Warfare Division Defence Science and Technology Group SA
Mr John Gunn CEO Australian Institute of Marine Science Qld
Underpinning Research Infrastructure Ms Cathrine Harboe-Ree University Librarian Monash University Vic
Dr David Mitchell CEO Australian Centre for Plant Functional Genomics SA
Prof Robyn Owens Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) University of Western Australia WA