26. Domestic undergraduate fee-paying students

26.1 - Offering fee-paying undergraduate places

Table A providers cannot offer fee-paying places to domestic students commencing an undergraduate course of study on or after 1 January 2009 except where a student:

  • accepted a fee-paying place in a course of study prior to 1 January 2009 and deferred enrolment to 2009 or a later year
  • transfers from one course of study the student commenced prior to 1 January 2009, as a fee-paying student, to another course of study at the same level at the same provider without completing the original course of study
  • undertakes a unit on a cross-institutional basis and the unit is not compulsory for the student’s course of study (see part 15.1)
  • commences a course of study as an overseas student and becomes a domestic student
  • has advised the appropriate officer of the provider in writing they do not wish to be Commonwealth supported (see part 21.10); or
  • is not eligible for a CSP including because they are:
    • enrolled in a fee-paying summer or winter school (see part 24.1)
    • enrolled in an employer-reserved place (see part 17.1); or
    • enrolled in a bridging course for overseas-trained professionals.

A student who commenced an undergraduate course of study as a fee-paying student prior to 1 January 2009 may continue to be enrolled in that course of study as a fee-paying student. This does not preclude a university from transferring a student to a CSP based on its policies and the availability of places.

Overseas students who obtain permanent residency at some point after commencing their course may be transferred to a domestic fee-paying place or a CSP [HESA section 36-30].

Fee-paying undergraduate places can be offered by Table B providers, Table C providers and other approved providers. Table B and Table C providers to which National Priority places have been allocated can offer fee-paying places in a course of study in which they offer National Priority places, only if they have filled or will fill all of their allocated National Priority places in that course of study [HESA subsection 36-30(3)].

All providers may offer fee-paying places in postgraduate courses (see part 7.6) and enabling courses (see part 7.7).