Features of the Core Skills for Work Developmental Framework

To participate in work successfully, everyone needs certain non-technical skills, knowledge, and understanding.

The Core Skills for Work Developmental Framework (the Framework) describes those skills and helps people understand at what stage of their career they might be and where they could improve.

Skill Clusters and Skills Areas

The skills needed to participate in work are often referred to as generic or employability skills. In the framework, they are described in three skill clusters:

  • navigating the world of work
  • interacting with others
  • getting the work done.

Within the three skill clusters are 10 skill areas, which are a combination of:

  • knowledge—what someone knows about in a theoretical or abstract sense
  • understanding—how they link it to their personal experience
  • skills—how they put their knowledge and understanding into practice in work settings.

Stages of performance

The framework describes these skills at five different stages—from novice to expert:

  • stage 1: Novice performer
  • stage 2: Advanced beginner
  • stage 3: Capable performer
  • stage 4: Proficient performer
  • stage 5: Expert performer.

Performance features

Performance features describe what someone knows, understands, and can do in relation to each of the 10 skill areas. The descriptors are grouped together under focus areas and span each of the five stages of performance.

The Framework presents a performance features table for each skill area.

The detailed performance features describe how an individual might behave when they are working at a particular stage of performance.

They can be used to identify what stage an individual is at in their skill development to:

  • articulate and build on an individual's current strengths
  • establish the stage at which an individual is performing, so that learning and development activities can focus on any skill gaps
  • provide a guide as to what individuals might do to develop particular skill areas
  • develop shared and realistic expectations about the appropriate stage of performance for an individual in a particular context and timeframe
  • identify the nature and degree of support required, and the types of practical experience and challenges needed for further learning and development