Australian Curriculum

Australia has a national curriculum, the Australian Curriculum, which provides schools, teachers, parents, students, and the community with a clear understanding of what students should learn, regardless of where they live or what school system they are in.

The Foundation to Year 10 Australian Curriculum provides:

  • curriculum content
  • an achievement standard in each subject that all students should be meeting
  • flexibility for teachers to personalise student learning and respond to student need and interest.

State, territory and non-government education authorities are responsible for delivering the Australian Curriculum, including decisions about implementation timeframes, classroom practices and resources that complement teaching of the Australian Curriculum. The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) provides information and resources to support the teaching of the Australian Curriculum.

Following an independent Review of the Australian Curriculum, in September 2015 all education ministers endorsed the Australian Curriculum: Foundation to Year 10 in:

  • eight key learning areas—English, Mathematics, Science, Humanities and Social Sciences, Health and Physical Education, Languages, Technologies and the Arts
  • seven general capabilities—literacy, numeracy, information and communication technology capability, critical and creative thinking, personal and social capability, intercultural understanding, and ethical understanding
  • three cross-curriculum priorities—sustainability, Asia and Australia's engagement with Asia, and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures.

On 12 June 2020 all Education Ministers agreed to a review of the Australian Curriculum. The review aims to improve the Australian Curriculum F- 10 by refining, realigning and decluttering the content of the curriculum within its existing structure and underpinned by the education goals of the Alice Springs (Mparntwe) Education Declaration (2019).

Education Council tasked ACARA to undertake the review. All eight key learning areas from Foundation –Year 10 are being  considered in the review. The focus is on refining and reducing the amount of content. Addressing an overcrowded curriculum in the primary years and ensuring a focus on essential content are priorities.

The revised version of the F-10 Australian Curriculum will be subject to endorsement by all Education Ministers. It is scheduled to be published on an improved version of the Australian Curriculum website by the start of 2022.

Further information about the review including the Terms of Reference, timeframes and governance can be found on the ACARA website. Information is also provided on the arrangements for consultation with the teaching profession and stakeholders. 

The Australian Government supports the implementation of the Australian Curriculum by providing funding for targeted projects and programs aligned to the curriculum.