Deputy Secretaries


Information on the Deputy Secretaries at the Department of Education and Training.

Deputy Secretary

Jackie Wilson

Jackie Wilson

Early Childhood and Child Care

Jackie Wilson is the Deputy Secretary for Early Childhood and Child Care.

Jackie and the Early Childhood and Child Care cluster are playing a key role in developing the Australian Government's Jobs for Families child care package, which is a comprehensive reform package to deliver on the Government's commitment to a more affordable, accessible and flexible child care system.

Prior to this Jackie was a Deputy Secretary at Social Services, Prime Minister and Cabinet, and Immigration.

Jackie gained significant experience from a number of senior positions in a variety of Commonwealth portfolios in programme and policy areas; these covered health, disability, community services, education, employment, budget and finance issues.

Jackie has a Bachelor of Science degree from the Australian National University.

Deputy Secretary

David Learmonth

David Learmonth

Higher Education, Research and International

David Learmonth is the Deputy Secretary, Higher Education, Research and International.

David recently joined Department of Education from the Department of Human Services where he was responsible for ensuring the delivery of effective and efficient welfare related payment programmes, such as age pension, child care benefits, rural and multicultural, child support, and family payments.

Prior to joining the Department of Human Services in 2015, David held the role of Deputy Secretary of the Department of Health from 2006, where he was responsible for medical benefits, pharmaceutical benefits, private health insurance, Indigenous health and sport.  He was also Head, Industry Division of the Defence Materiel Organisation where he was responsible for international cooperation, export and industry policy.  His career has also included positions in aged care and Veterans' Affairs.

Deputy Secretary

Marcus Markovic

Marcus Markovic

Corporate Strategy

Marcus Markovic is the Acting Deputy Secretary for the Corporate Strategy Cluster in the Department of Education and Training.

Previously, Marcus was the department's Chief Financial Officer with responsibility for Finance, Technology and Business Services.

Marcus has a long career in the Australian Public Service. Prior to his role in Department of Education and Training, he held senior executive roles in the Department of Human Services, ComSuper and the Australian Taxation Office.

Deputy Secretary

Alex Gordon

Alex Gordon

Schools and Youth

Alex Gordon is the Deputy Secretary for the Schools and Youth Cluster in the Department of Education.

Since joining the department in 2010, Alex has held a number of senior leadership roles driving major reforms in school funding, data collection and analytics, national curriculum and assessment, quality teaching and preschool.

Alex has worked across a range of public policy issues within Government, community organisations and the private sector. This includes working on issues of social policy, energy and climate change, water, infrastructure and regional development.

Alex holds a Bachelor of Science from the University of Sydney and a Master of Science from the University of Oxford.

Deputy Secretary

Dr Subho Banerjee

Nadine Williams

Nadine Williams is Deputy Secretary for the Skills and Training Cluster in the Department of Education and Training.

Nadine has a background in microeconomic and regulatory reform and 25 years of experience in leading complex reform agendas at both the Commonwealth and State government level.

Nadine has held senior roles in the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, the Department of Finance and the NSW Government. She has worked across a broad range of public policy issues, including employment and training policy in the Indigenous Affairs portfolio; environment and agricultural policy; and COAG regulatory and competition reform.

Prior to joining the Department of Education and Training in 2018, Nadine oversaw the delivery of consumer regulation; regional communications policy and programs; and the National Broadband Network in the Department of Communications and the Arts.